Thursday, December 11, 2008

I'm so...insulted?

Today was a long day. So a bath for 2 little boys was something that we all needed to unwind. Usually I can crack open a book once the boys are settled in the tub, if I'm lucky I can read a chapter or even two before getting soggy from all the splashing. Tonight, I decided we all needed to be in bed early, so I just tossed them in and started the wash cycle. While washing Tommy's hair, I noticed his legs looked like an identical (but smaller) version of his dads. Skinny like sticks and white as a neon ghost. Blinding white. So....I commented on how similar they looked to daddy's. John of course chimed in, throwing his leg and about a gallon of water in the air.... and shouted "Do mine look like daddy's too?" "Nope" I replied, "you got legs like your mama, sorry son". With a confused look on his face, Tommy was determined to check this out. He pushed aside the Mr. Bubbles' residue, and said...."Aaaah, John, you DO have legs like Mommy's.....all bruised up and hairy."

Uh.....EXCUSE ME? I didn't sign up for this abuse! What I meant was, he had darker skin and they were short.....sheesh! Some people!

Friday, December 5, 2008

The Adventures of Vomit Boy and Sassy Pants....

Seriously, my life could really be a low budget movie! I'd be the super hero mom, that bakes cookies and fights off the bad germs with her can of Lysol and bottle of Vitamin C. Tom can be the crime fighting dad....duh, and Vomit Boy, sadly played by Thomas....and Sassy Pants (formerly played by Thomas) now starring John.

The flick could start like this.....dad leaves for work at the butt crack of dawn, mom wakes shortly afterwards to tend to her mom-like duties (you know, gotta throw off the bad germ). When she wakes the boys, she gets lip from Sassy Pants, and the same old boring excuses from Vomit Boy. "Mom, I don't wanna go to school.....my head hurts, I'm cold, I'm tired, I have a tummy ache....my toenail is throbbing. (okay I threw in that last one to make sure you were reading!)

Fast forward 45 minutes, we're in the car, Sassy Pants is yelling that he can't here his favorite song, and could you quit using the turn signal when you change lanes because it's annoying. Vomit boy is.......well much to my surprise.....VOMITING! In the back seat of my car! We flipped the car around and everyone is staying home! Especially me because my ride now smells like rotten raisin bran (no milk thank goodness).

Apparently mom isn't doing her part to keep the bad germs away....I better log off for the day and tend to my duties!

Tuesday, November 4, 2008

A voting kind of family




Well, really, I don' t think I've been so excited to vote since I was 18...and that's a long time ago! But this election really got me excited about getting out there and voting. With the boys being little, we really didn't discuss the process with them much, but yesterday Mr. T came home with a I VOTED sticker on his shirt, and our conversation went a little something like this....




Me: You voted? What did you vote for?


Mr. T: Yeah, I voted for the President of the United States


Big J: OF AMERICA! (with a sigh in his voice...as if his big brother doesn't know everything!)


Me: Oh really, well, who'd ya vote for?


Mr. T: John Mc....Mc.....McSomething


Me: Oh John McCain? Why did you pick him?


Mr. T: Because he has the same name as my brother!




Hee hee! So silly!




Today Big J and I headed to our neighborhood polls by bike. Not only are we voting fools, we're green too! ;-) I think it took longer to lock our bikes up, then it did to actually vote! When I dropped my ballot into the box they gave Big J a I VOTED sticker, he was so excited! We rode home and then headed to Starbucks for our free coffee. They gave J a mini hot cocoa, and I got a yummy latte.




Daddy is out of town....AGAIN, so apparently he won't be voting! Shame shame on him!

Thursday, October 30, 2008

Ack! I've been tagged!!

I say ACK...because I've never been "tagged" before, and it sounded a bit scary! LOL

So Wendy....thanks! This was fun! (and I don't know 7 people with blogs...so I'm just going to do part 1 & 2 and will work on 3 & 4 ;-)

Here are the rules:

1. Link to the person that tagged you and put the rules on your blog...
2. Share 7 weird or random facts about yourself...
3. Tag 7 random people at the end of your post and link to their blog...
4. Let each person know they have been tagged by leaving a note on their blog...Here are my 7 random facts.........


1. I love love love to cook and obsessed with cookbooks and recipes! ACK
2. I think I have OCD, and thank my father for that!
3. Orange is my new favorite color
4. I love love love Halloween, more so than Christmas!
5. I haven't been back to the gym since I got bronchitis in October 2007!!!
6. When I dream of being at home, it's always my childhood home. Not my current home or the past home I lived in for almost 10 years, it's the teeny tiny home I lived in 25 years ago.
7. I secretly want to adopt a girl kitten...SHHHHH don't tell my husband!

Just a fun and crazy tooth day...





Oh boy, what an afternoon. I picked Thomas up from school and would you believe, that 10 days after loosing his first tooth, his 2nd popped out?! He's now missing 2 bottom front teeth! He looks so cute and OH so grown up! Really, how does this happen so quickly? How does one boy go from just cutting baby teeth to loosing them in a matter of months?! Wasn't he just born?

Funny he should loose it today, both boys had appointments with the dentist after school. So we rush home for some deep cleaning of the teeth along with double flossing in hopes to make up for the last 6 months we missed (bad mommy) and rush out the door to the dentist.

Both boys get their exams and ....YIPPPEE SKIPPY...no cavities! I'm so excited! And they are too, since they got a goody bag from the Dentist along with a coupon for their favorite pizza place. It's like Chuck E. Cheeses on crack...huge carnival rides inside along with cool games for the whole family! Tom and I like it because the food is pretty decent and...they serve beer! (giggles!)

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

60 Frankensteins....











Life changes when you have children....way more than you can ever imagine. Could you ever see me staying up past midnight and spending the whole next day to complete the task of making 60 Frankensteins for the boys' classmates? 60 freaking Frankensteins, have I lost my mind you ask.....yep! I think I have!
Thanks to a friend who had the idea....I shamelessly stole.....here are my "frankies". Filled with stickers, fruit snacks, a sucker and a whole lotta love (and maybe a dog hair or two?!). One thing I will tell you, if I see a dead "frankie" in the parking lot of school....I'm sure to burst into tears!
Happy Halloween!

Tuesday, October 28, 2008

Early to bed....

Okay so I'm making up for lost time with 2 posts in one day! Okay so I'm minding my own business, working on the finishing touches on 60 Frankenstein treat holders for school on Thursday, and Tom keeps bugging me. Apparently he can't sleep, the neighbors dog has been barking consistently for 30 some odd minutes. Okay... earplugs? Whatever, he does his thing and I think went back to bed? Then the phone rings, it's my mom, rambling on and on about something something "early to bed, early to rise"....that her friends, brother's, neighbors, best friends, twin boys need to know where the quote came from, and since I'm so high-techy, I can look it up on my big old box of magic, (my Dell) and figure out who's quote it is. Turns out ....Ben Franklin!

Ooops gotta run, the cops are here, I guess Tom called the police on the neighbors dog....really doesn't he ever quit working?! SHEESH!

Good night...and remember, Early to bed....blah blah blah

Shame on me...

...bad, bad blogger!

Okay, I totally stink at this, but have high hopes now that I got canned from my part time work from home jobby-job, I'll have a little bit more time! I won't be rushing home from every single outing to check my work email accounts (yes 2!) to see if there were fires that needed to be put out! Yes, I was sad to be let go, and my ego was a bit bruised, but sheeesh! This has been the best week in a half I've had in a long long time! Despite nursing a sick boy back to health and recovering from my own bout of strep throat...It was an awesome week and a half! ;-)

Funny thing happened today, Big J and I picked up Mr. T from school today, and the conversation was pretty interesting. Usually the chattering behind the driver seat is pretty funny, but today....very enlightening!

Thomas informed me that today, Anna is no longer his girlfriend....uh, WHAT!? You are 5, in Kindergarten, and you no longer have a girlfriend? Was I aware that you actually had one? Uh, NO! I kind of let that go and just listened for a bit, asking basic questions (really, pumping for info). I asked why, he replied "Anna plays with Ben now, and she throws bark at us" Interesting! Then John jumps into the conversation, because really, no conversation can take place without John telling his side of the story!

John shouts out "Yeah, I'm switching up girlfriends too.....Ashley WAS my girlfriend, now it's Kaitlyn" ....really I think? I must have missed something, isn't this CATHOLIC school....shouldn't there be some sort of training for parents since we're SO INVOLVED with everything?!

So long story short, Thomas is now boyfriend to Hannah, because she can shoot a basketball into the high hoops and doesn't throw bark. John's new girlfriend is Kaitlyn because she does throw bark....at the other boys. Interesting, interesting day! I look forward to the teen years, but then I'll be 65!

Wednesday, September 3, 2008

Mr. John the Pre-K'er


John, being his normal nutty-self after his first day of Pre-K. He likes his new teachers, has a few new buddies and thinks his class has cool toys.

School boy Thomas



Thomas on his first day of school. He loves his class, his teacher and his "cool new school".

Ooopsie.....

With all the summer fun, I forgot about my blog! Well, now that summer is over, I may have a few minutes a day to write a bit about what we've been doing!! But now, just a recap of our summer.

June, was busy (see below). Tom and the boys had a blast up at the lake. Caught fish, did some guy bonding around a camp fire and drank soda! July, Tom decided to start studying for the Captains test. 6 weeks of intense studying and stress. Kicking the boys and I out of the house so he could have peace and quite. August....getting ready for school and a weekend trip to Santa Cruz.

Oh school....did I mention school? Tommy is officially a Kindergartner! Yup, my big guy is old enough to go to school. John, my little man is in Pre-K. They both are loving it and are gone most days (J only goes 3 days a week).

Now that it's September, we're looking forward to cooler weather, getting on track with our school schedule and looking forward to celebrating the holidays (and Mr. J's birthday too)

Hope everyone is safe and well.

Wednesday, June 18, 2008

Where has the time gone?

Life has been busy, way too busy for this mom! On Sunday, Tom will be taking the boys on a week long fishing adventure! Yup, that's right...leaving this mama home all by her lonesome! Oh no, I'm not complaining! I've got my honey-do list all ready to go as well as my social calendar filled for the week. Sushi and movies on Monday, dinner and drinks on Tuesday, hair cut and hanging out on Wednesday...and, well, you get the idea.

Now, don't get me wrong, there will be lots of work in there too! My work load has increased, which will keep me way busier than normal! I have plans to paint the boys' bedroom (yes, I'm attempting to put them in the same room again....YES, I have lost my mind, thank you very much!) and set up the new bunk beds.

With all this stuff going on next week, you can be sure I'll be missing my guys! Just thinking about the silence, makes me tear up a little....just a little.

Well, with that said, at least I'll have time to keep up with my blog! =D

Wednesday, June 4, 2008

Sweet June!!

Finally, it's offically summer! Okay, so not *Officially* summer, but it's summer at our house! The weather is warming up, we've been in the pool a few times, and the boys are technically out of school. When I say technically, it means they are still going to preschool 2 mornings a week. Working from home is really boring for 2 little boys, so I figured it would be much more fun if they could hang out for a few hours with their friends. And I was right, they are having a blast! The best part, they go to the same class at the same time. It's really great, they are having so much fun together!

I thought May was a very busy month for us, but I was wrong! June is going to be insane! Besides school for the boys, Tom has a busy work schedule, and I work 6a-10a each morning too. The boys have 2 weeks of swimming lessons starting in June, and Tom is taking the boys up to the lake for a week of fishing! (Yes, leaving me at home alone!) As much as I should be sad, I'm really looking forward to getting things done around the house while they are all away. Along with some pampering too....a pedicure, maybe a facial....oh and lots of dinners out with friends that I haven't seen in awhile! Oh sweet sweet June! YAY

Tuesday, March 4, 2008

Silly little John

Photobucket
Seriously, John has to be the funniest little guy ever! He's always doing things that make us laugh. He found his favorite undies on laundry day, and decided he wanted Mom to take his picture! I told him to smile and he gave me a silly grin and crossed his arms! He's a little nut!

Saturday, February 23, 2008

YAY! We have a blog!

Okay, I'm officially a blogger! HA! I can't promise I will update this as often as I should, but I do promise to give it a try.

We are one busy family, with 2 active boys, it's tough just to sit and relax. When I get quiet time, I tend to just veg out and enjoy the peace and quiet.

Tommy is just about 24 days away from his 5th birthday. YES, I said 5th birthday! HOW in the heck did that happen? Where has the time gone. 5 seems so old, like a mini-adult or something. He's so very smart and sweet. His preschool teacher said he was tender hearted, and he really truly is. He cares about others feelings, and just loves his mom so much. When his brother was going through some blood tests, it was Tommy curled up in the waiting room crying, not John. (btw, John didn't even cry when they took blood out of his teeny tiny little. He just said "Heeeyyyy, that really hurts" and that was that!) Tommy started baseball up again this season. This year it isn't T-ball, its actual coach-pitched baseball! He loves it, loves hanging out with his friends (especially Lauren), running around outside and just has a love for the sport!! He's doing really well in school, and we just started the application process for Kindergarten at St. Anthony's Catholic school. We should find out by early March if he's accepted. The only reason he wouldn't be, is that they have a waiting list with other student's siblings on there. Fingers crossed!!

John is also doing well. He's a silly little fella that often tests our patients. He's almost 3.5 years old. He's also attending preschool, same school as Tommy but just goes to the morning program. He has a few girl friends, Lucy and Abby. They are so cute! He comes home in the best mood, and we have a great afternoon after school. I bring him lunch in his little Shrek lunch box, and he shares every little thing with me. Even his last cookie. He's sweet....with a little sour side too. He can be a little pistol, but from what I hear, it's kind of normal for the 2nd child. John got accepted into the St. Anthony's Catholic Preschool program, but if Tommy doesn't get in, I won't be sending John. I want them to be at the same school. I'll have 2 free mornings, if this all works out. WOW! I won't know what to do with myself! LOL

Well, I'll update more later, when I get a chance, and I'll also add pictures!